A Double Dose Deal For Us- A Motivational Story about Keeping Healthy

Bismillaah

As Salaamu ‘alaykum and peace to all,

A Double Dose Deal For Us- A Motivational Story about Keeping Healthy

That day I was talking to a friend of mine who was having problem sleeping. And it was affecting her adversely as according to her, she now has become officially a slightly grumpy, irritable and cranky person.

She reminded me of what JoJo Jensen once said,

Without enough sleep, we all become tall two-year-olds.

Unfortunately for my friend, it was kind of tough for me to give a sound advice on how to overcome her insomnia as I am the kind who just before the clock strikes midnight, I am already the best friend of Sleeping Beauty, alhamdulillaah.

Yup, that’s me. Dozing off without a care of what is happening in this world minutes after landing my head of that fluffy pillow, alhamdulillaah. Indeed, I know in that itself, is a blessing Allah has given me, alhamdulillaah.

As I thought about my friend that day, I remembered reading a hadith of the routine of our beloved Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) during night time,

It is reported from Aswad ibn Yazid (RA) as follows:-

I inquired from Aisha (RA) about the Prophet’s (Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam) night prayers as to what was his practice regarding these. She said: “After the I’sha Salah he used to take rest in the early part of the night. Thereafter, he would say the Tahajjud Salah until the last part of the night when he would also say the Witr. Then he used to retire to bed…” (Shamail)

SubhanAllaah… what a simple and straightforward routine he (pbuh) has, you agree?

It made me ponder on my own night habits.

What did I do every single night before hitting the sack? Pray? Read Quran? Watch the news? Night Shopping? Chat online? Talk on the phone? Eat? Working?

Ya Allaah, truly I have so much things to change….

Salman Al-Farsi quoted the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) as saying:

“Observe the night Prayer; it was the practice of the righteous before you and it brings you closer to your Lord and it is penance for evil deeds and erases the sins and repels disease from the body.” (At-Tabarani)

After reading this hadith, I suddenly saw something that I have never ‘seen’ before.

Observing night prayers could repel disease from the body?

SubhanAllaah, isn’t that very interesting, my brothers and sisters?

I began to wonder- just what kind of disease that could be repelled from our body if we observe the night prayer?

Then, weeks later, Allaah send me the answer via an email from a friend. Let me share it with you here

SubhanAllaah! SubhanAllaah! SubhanAllaah!

Although I must say that I cannot verify the authenticity of this medical article, but, I think generally, it sounded quite right, you agree?

This article has made me realized that the time when we are asked to sleep, then pray Tahajjud and also eat (sahuur) is the actual time when our body are really cleansing itself and absorbing nutrients- literally!

Ya Allaah, indeed You are Most Magnificent.

Josh Billings once said,

Health is like munny, we never have a true idea of its value until we lose it.

So, before that happens to me, I decided that I will try to understand the value of health and blessings of being disease-free by using the best method given to me by my Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him).

And i just realized that not only by sleeping early and waking up early allows me to be closer to Allaah thru the Tahajjud prayers, but, apparently, it is also great for my health! SubhanAllaah!

What about you my dearest brothers and sisters? Care for a no-loss-all-win double dose deal Allah has given us?

Think about it.

Sis Zabrina also known as Zabrina A. Bakar, is a Life Storyteller, motivational and inspirational writer and speaker; and author and creator of Islamic motivational book Life Open Secret book series http://wwww.LifeOpenSecret.com. She maintains an active blog at http://www.WisdomThruWords.blogspot.com. and social networking platform a Web 2.0 at http://www.LifeStoryteller.ning.com

Copyright © Sis Zabrina 2008

Sis Zabrina
Life Storyteller
Author of Life is an Open Secret Islamic Motivational Book Series:
Life is an Open Secret- Think about It
Life is an Open Secret- You, Me and We
Hidup Bukan Rahsia http://www.lifeopensecret.com

-18 Inspirational Stories from Ordinary life experiences-

Now blogging at http://www.wisdomthruwords.blogspot.com 

~ Life Storyteller Blog: Your Source for Islamic Motivational and Inspirational Stories~

Tags : , , , , , , , , , ,

Sis Zabrina, also known as Zabrina A. Bakar, is a Life Storyteller, motivational and inspirational writer and speaker; and author of Islamic motivational book series Life is an Open Secret http://www.lifeopensecret.com She maintains an active blog at http://www.wisdomthruwords.blogspot.com
and her personal Social Networking Platform http://www.LifeStoryteller.ning.com

What Happened to Our Body At Night

Evening at 9 – 11pm:
is the time for eliminating unnecessary/toxic chemicals (detoxification) from the antibody system (lymph nodes). This time duration should be spent by relaxing or listening to music. If during this time a housewife is still in an unrelaxed state such as washing the dishes or monitoring children doing their homework, this will have a negative impact on health.

Evening at 11pm – 1am:
is the detoxification process in the liver, and ideally should be done in a deep sleep state.

Early morning 1 – 3am:
detoxification process in the gall, also ideally done in a deep sleep state.

Early morning 3 – 5am:
detoxification in the lungs. Therefore there will sometimes be a severe cough for cough sufferers during this time. Since the detoxification process had reached the respiratory tract, there is no need to take cough medicine so as not to interfere with toxin removal process.

Morning 5 – 7am:
detoxification in the colon, you should empty your bowel.

Morning 7 – 9am:
absorption of nutrients in the small intestine, you should be having breakfast at this time. Breakfast should be earlier, before 6:30am, for those who are sick. Breakfast before 7:30am is very beneficial to those wanting to stay fit. Those who always skip breakfast, they should change their habits, and it is still better to eat breakfast late until 9 – 10am rather than no meal at all.

Sleeping so late and waking up too late will disrupt the process of removing unnecessary chemicals.